Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

A Memory Called Empire

ebook

WINNER OF THE HUGO AWARD FOR BEST NOVEL 2020
In a war of lies she seeks the truth

Ambassador Mahit Dzmare travels to the Teixcalaanli Empire's interstellar capital, eager to take up her new post. Yet when she arrives, she discovers her predecessor was murdered. But no one will admit his death wasn't accidental - and she might be next.
Now Mahit must navigate the capital's enticing yet deadly halls of power, to discover dangerous truths. And while she hunts for the killer, Mahit must somehow prevent the rapacious Empire from annexing her home: a small, fiercely independent mining station.
As she sinks deeper into an alien culture that is all too seductive, Mahit engages in intrigues of her own. For she's hiding an extraordinary technological secret, one which might destroy her station and its way of life. Or it might save them from annihilation.
An extraordinary science fiction debut, Arkady Martine's first novel in the Texicalaan series, A Memory Called Empire is perfect for fans of John Scalzi, Becky Chambers and Frank Herbert's Dune.
SHORTLISTED FOR THE NEBULA AWARD FOR BEST NOVEL 2020
SHORTLISTED FOR THE ARTHUR C. CLARKE AWARD
2020
SHORTLISTED FOR THE GOODREADS CHOICE AWARDS
2019
PRAISE FOR A MEMORY CALLED EMPIRE

'A mesmerizing debut . . . it left me utterly dazzled.' The New York Times Book Review
'[A] gorgeously crafted diplomatic space opera . . . Readers will eagerly await the planned sequels to this impressive debut.' Publishers Weekly, starred review
'Exquisite . . . a compelling journey with a rich world and fascinating characters' The Los Angeles Times
'Interesting, detailed, lavish.' The Wall Street Journal
'Contender for debut of the year' SFX Magazine
'A Memory Called Empire perfectly balances action and intrigue with matters of empire and identity. All-round brilliant space opera, I absolutely loved it' Ann Leckie, author of Ancillary Justice

'Stunning sci-fi debut. An ambassador from a small space station has to survive in the capital of a galactic empire where everyone seems to want her dead. Add in a great will-they-won't-they wlw romantic interest. Awesome' Rick Riordan, author of the Percy Jackson series


Expand title description text
Publisher: Pan Macmillan UK
Awards:

OverDrive Read

  • ISBN: 9781760785987
  • Release date: April 9, 2019

Formats

OverDrive Read

Languages

English

WINNER OF THE HUGO AWARD FOR BEST NOVEL 2020
In a war of lies she seeks the truth

Ambassador Mahit Dzmare travels to the Teixcalaanli Empire's interstellar capital, eager to take up her new post. Yet when she arrives, she discovers her predecessor was murdered. But no one will admit his death wasn't accidental - and she might be next.
Now Mahit must navigate the capital's enticing yet deadly halls of power, to discover dangerous truths. And while she hunts for the killer, Mahit must somehow prevent the rapacious Empire from annexing her home: a small, fiercely independent mining station.
As she sinks deeper into an alien culture that is all too seductive, Mahit engages in intrigues of her own. For she's hiding an extraordinary technological secret, one which might destroy her station and its way of life. Or it might save them from annihilation.
An extraordinary science fiction debut, Arkady Martine's first novel in the Texicalaan series, A Memory Called Empire is perfect for fans of John Scalzi, Becky Chambers and Frank Herbert's Dune.
SHORTLISTED FOR THE NEBULA AWARD FOR BEST NOVEL 2020
SHORTLISTED FOR THE ARTHUR C. CLARKE AWARD
2020
SHORTLISTED FOR THE GOODREADS CHOICE AWARDS
2019
PRAISE FOR A MEMORY CALLED EMPIRE

'A mesmerizing debut . . . it left me utterly dazzled.' The New York Times Book Review
'[A] gorgeously crafted diplomatic space opera . . . Readers will eagerly await the planned sequels to this impressive debut.' Publishers Weekly, starred review
'Exquisite . . . a compelling journey with a rich world and fascinating characters' The Los Angeles Times
'Interesting, detailed, lavish.' The Wall Street Journal
'Contender for debut of the year' SFX Magazine
'A Memory Called Empire perfectly balances action and intrigue with matters of empire and identity. All-round brilliant space opera, I absolutely loved it' Ann Leckie, author of Ancillary Justice

'Stunning sci-fi debut. An ambassador from a small space station has to survive in the capital of a galactic empire where everyone seems to want her dead. Add in a great will-they-won't-they wlw romantic interest. Awesome' Rick Riordan, author of the Percy Jackson series


Expand title description text