Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

The Fragments

ebook

Inga Karlson died in a fire in New York in the 1930s, leaving behind three things: a phenomenally successful first novel, the scorched fragments of a second book—and a literary mystery that has captivated generations of readers.

Nearly fifty years later, Brisbane bookseller Caddie Walker is waiting in line to see a Karlson exhibition featuring the famous fragments when she meets a charismatic older woman. The woman quotes a phrase from the Karlson fragments that Caddie knows does not exist—and yet to Caddie, who knows Inga Karlson's work like she knows her name, it feels genuine.

Caddie is electrified. Jolted her from her sleepy, no-worries life in torpid 1980s Brisbane she is driven to investigate: to find the clues that will unlock the greatest literary mystery of the twentieth century.

Toni Jordan is the author of five novels. The international bestseller Addition was a Richard and Judy Bookclub pick and was longlisted for the Miles Franklin Literary Award. Fall Girl was published internationally and has been optioned for film, and Nine Days was awarded Best Fiction at the Indie Awards, was shortlisted for the ABIA Best General Fiction award and was named in Kirkus Review's top 10 Historical Novels of 2013. Our Tiny, Useless Hearts was shortlisted for the Voss Literary Prize 2017 and longlisted for the International Dublin Literary Award 2018. Toni's latest book is the literary mystery The Fragments. She lives in Melbourne.

'I love Jordan's writing for its pitch-perfect blend of intelligence, compassion and humour.' Clare Wright, Guardian

'I so loved The Fragments by the amazing Toni Jordan. A thrilling, atmospheric, unforgettable story. I didn't want it to end.' Liane Moriarty

'The writing from Melbourne literary favourite Toni Jordan is sublime and this reviewer's only regret is that this divine novel had to come to an end.' Herald Sun

'Jordan takes on a different genre with every novel and handles each with distinctive flair. In this literary crime thriller she alternates between 1986 Brisbane and 1939 New York City, with a strong sense of place in each locale and a generous cast.' Adelaide Advertiser

'Jordan constructs a satisfying mystery, with rival conspiracy theories, plots, betrayal, clues and red herrings enough confuse readers in their attempts to solve it – perfect for fans of Dominic Smith's The Last Painting of Sara de Vos and Heather Rose's The Museum of Modern Love .' Kill Your Darlings

'It's a treat to step back into 1980s-era Australia with [Jordan].' Books + Publishing

'An unusual literary thriller, built around complex twists and a great sense of anticipation...Exploring truth and historicity, The Fragments is a clever novel. Jordan's fiction examines the overlooked roles of women, whose work often forms the thread that binds stories from the past, and the public's hunger for what goes missing in the narrative gaps.' Saturday Paper

'A mystery that spans cities, class, people and timezones, and it's a page-turner with plot developments transpiring right to the very last pages...If you love reading Jane Harper or Holly Throsby or indeed Jordan's other novels, this is the perfect weekend read. The Fragments is undoubtedly Jordan's finest work to date.' Readings

'A gripping historical mystery with quite a few twists and red herrings to keep the reader guessing...Once again, Jordan shows she is a very talented author, with more than one string to her bow.' BookMooch


Expand title description text
Publisher: The Text Publishing Company

OverDrive Read

  • ISBN: 9781925774047
  • Release date: October 29, 2018

EPUB ebook

  • ISBN: 9781925774047
  • File size: 974 KB
  • Release date: October 29, 2018

Formats

OverDrive Read
EPUB ebook

subjects

Fiction Literature

Languages

English

Inga Karlson died in a fire in New York in the 1930s, leaving behind three things: a phenomenally successful first novel, the scorched fragments of a second book—and a literary mystery that has captivated generations of readers.

Nearly fifty years later, Brisbane bookseller Caddie Walker is waiting in line to see a Karlson exhibition featuring the famous fragments when she meets a charismatic older woman. The woman quotes a phrase from the Karlson fragments that Caddie knows does not exist—and yet to Caddie, who knows Inga Karlson's work like she knows her name, it feels genuine.

Caddie is electrified. Jolted her from her sleepy, no-worries life in torpid 1980s Brisbane she is driven to investigate: to find the clues that will unlock the greatest literary mystery of the twentieth century.

Toni Jordan is the author of five novels. The international bestseller Addition was a Richard and Judy Bookclub pick and was longlisted for the Miles Franklin Literary Award. Fall Girl was published internationally and has been optioned for film, and Nine Days was awarded Best Fiction at the Indie Awards, was shortlisted for the ABIA Best General Fiction award and was named in Kirkus Review's top 10 Historical Novels of 2013. Our Tiny, Useless Hearts was shortlisted for the Voss Literary Prize 2017 and longlisted for the International Dublin Literary Award 2018. Toni's latest book is the literary mystery The Fragments. She lives in Melbourne.

'I love Jordan's writing for its pitch-perfect blend of intelligence, compassion and humour.' Clare Wright, Guardian

'I so loved The Fragments by the amazing Toni Jordan. A thrilling, atmospheric, unforgettable story. I didn't want it to end.' Liane Moriarty

'The writing from Melbourne literary favourite Toni Jordan is sublime and this reviewer's only regret is that this divine novel had to come to an end.' Herald Sun

'Jordan takes on a different genre with every novel and handles each with distinctive flair. In this literary crime thriller she alternates between 1986 Brisbane and 1939 New York City, with a strong sense of place in each locale and a generous cast.' Adelaide Advertiser

'Jordan constructs a satisfying mystery, with rival conspiracy theories, plots, betrayal, clues and red herrings enough confuse readers in their attempts to solve it – perfect for fans of Dominic Smith's The Last Painting of Sara de Vos and Heather Rose's The Museum of Modern Love .' Kill Your Darlings

'It's a treat to step back into 1980s-era Australia with [Jordan].' Books + Publishing

'An unusual literary thriller, built around complex twists and a great sense of anticipation...Exploring truth and historicity, The Fragments is a clever novel. Jordan's fiction examines the overlooked roles of women, whose work often forms the thread that binds stories from the past, and the public's hunger for what goes missing in the narrative gaps.' Saturday Paper

'A mystery that spans cities, class, people and timezones, and it's a page-turner with plot developments transpiring right to the very last pages...If you love reading Jane Harper or Holly Throsby or indeed Jordan's other novels, this is the perfect weekend read. The Fragments is undoubtedly Jordan's finest work to date.' Readings

'A gripping historical mystery with quite a few twists and red herrings to keep the reader guessing...Once again, Jordan shows she is a very talented author, with more than one string to her bow.' BookMooch


Expand title description text